Quick Info


The 2030 Agenda is based on five dimensions, also known as the 5Ps:

1. People

To end poverty and hunger, in all their forms and dimensions, and to ensure that all human beings can fulfil their potential in dignity and equality and in a healthy environment.

2. Planet

To protect the planet from degradation, including through sustainable consumption and production, sustainably managing its natural resources and taking urgent action on climate change.

3. Prosperity

To ensure that all human beings can enjoy prosperous and fulfilling lives and that economic, social and technological progress occurs in harmony with nature.

4. Peace

To foster peaceful, just and inclusive societies which are free from fear and violence.

5. Partnership

To mobilise the means required to implement the 2030 Agenda through a partnership based on a spirit of solidarity and focused, in particular, on the needs of the most vulnerable.

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, adopted by all United Nations Member States in 2015, provides a shared blueprint for peace and prosperity for people and the planet, now and into the future. At its heart are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which are an urgent call for action by all countries – developed and developing – in a global partnership.

They recognise that ending poverty and other deprivations must go hand-in-hand with strategies that improve health and education, reduce inequality, and spur economic growth – all while tackling climate change and working to preserve our oceans and forests.

South Africa was one of the early supporters of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. This commitment is intertwined with its contribution to setting Africa’s long-term development goals.

So, what exactly are these sustainable development goals and what do they mean?